About us

Terms of Reference

  1. In collaboration with other ICA Commissions, explore research on the impact and use in SDIs oi cartography, standards, spatial semantics, ontologies, volunteered geographic information (VGI), data quality and other technological developments that might become relevant in future, and identify the associated education needs.
  2. In collaboration with other ICA Commissions, participate at the scientific level with other organizations active in SDI, standards and quality of geospatial data and services.
  3. Develop reports, conference presentations and/or journal articles on our work and help to arrange workshops, conferences or other meetings on SDI and standards, and present tutorials at them.
  4. Organize reporting sessions on the Commission’s activities at the 2021 and 2023 International Cartographic Conferences.
  5. Organize and hold full Commission meetings in 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023, and mini-meetings of the Commission at suitable meetings and conferences.
  6. Continue to serve as the liaison for the ICA to ISO/TC211, Geographic Information/Geomatics, to the Open Geospatial Consortium, and establish liaisons with other SDI and standards organizations.


Serena Coetzee
Serena Coetzee
Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology
University of Pretoria
Private Bag X20
Hatfield 0028, South Africa
phone: +27 12 420 3823
e-mail: serena.coetzee@up.ac.za
Franz-Josef Behr
Franz-Josef Behr
Laboratory for Open Geospatial Software, Data and Standards
Stuttgart University of Applied Sciences
Schellingstraße 24
70174 Stuttgart, Germany
phone: +49 711 8926 2606
fax: +49 711/8926-2556
e-mail: franz-josef.behr@hft-stuttgart.de

Former Chairs

Antony Cooper
Antony Cooper
Built Environment Unit
PO Box 395
Pretoria 0001
South Africa
phone: +27 12 841 4121
fax: +27 12 841 3037
e-mail: acooper@csir.co.za
Harald Moellering
Harold Moellering
Department of Geography
The Ohio State University
1036 Derby Hall
154 North Oval Mall
Columbus, Oh 43210-1361, USA
e-mail: moellering.1@osu.edu

Executive Committee

Executive Committee liaison: Vit Voženílek


Paloma Abad – Instituto Geográfico Nacional, Madrid (Spain)
Suchith Anand – University of Nottingham, Nottingham (UK)
Jean Brodeur – Recherche GéoSémantic Research (Canada)
Karl Baker – Land Information New Zealand (LINZ), Wellington (New Zealand)
Veerle Beyaert – Informatie Vlaanderen, Gent (Belgium)
Joselyn Robledo Ceballos – Universidad de Santiago de Chile (Chile)
Maroale Chauke – Department of Rural Development and Land Reform (South Africa)
Antony Cooper – CSIR, Pretoria (South Africa)
Joep Crompvoets – KU Leuven (Belgium)
Dave Danko – Esri (USA)
Tatiana Delgado – Havana (Cuba)
Ahmad Desai – National Geo-spatial Information (NGI) (South Africa)
López Romero Emilio – Instituto Geográfico Nacional (Spain)
Olivier Ertz – University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland (Switzerland)
Sebastian Hennig – OpenStreetMap Germany (Germany)
Jan Hjelmager – Danish Geodata Agency, Copenhagen (Denmark)
Anja Hopfstock – BKG, Frankfurt, (Germany)
Ionut Iosifescu – Institute of Cartography and Geoinformation, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)
García Francisco Javier – Instituto Geográfico Nacional (Spain)
Gonzalo Ifland – Universidad de Santiago de Chile (Chile)
Ivana Ivanova – Curtin University (Australia)
Adam Iwaniak – Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences, Wroclaw (Poland)
B Jagadish – Indian Institute of Technoglogy, Kanpur (India)
Katarzyna Jozwik – Polish Geological Institute – National Research Institute (Poland)
Iwona Kaczmarek – Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences, Wroclaw (Poland)
Samy Katumba – Gauteng City Region Observatory (South Africa)
Milan Konecny – Masaryk University, Brno (Czech Republic)
Barend Köbben – Universiteit Twente, Enschede (Netherlands)
Dominique Laurent – Institut Géographique National France, Paris (France)
Jan Laporte – Informatie Vlaanderen, Gent (Belgium)
Leonel Manteigas – International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) (Monaco)
Harold Moellering – Department of Geography, Ohio State University (USA)
Yashena Naidoo – Gauteng City-Region Observatory (GCRO) (South Africa)
Alberto Neves – International Hydrographic Organization (Monaco)
Anders Nielsen – Danish Geodata Agency, Copenhagen (Denmark)
Olaf Østensen – Norwegian Mapping Authority, Oslo (Norway)
Geoff O’Malley – Land Information New Zealand (New Zealand)
Antonio F. Rodríguez Pascual – Instituto Geográfico Nacional (Spain)
Ammatzia Peled – University of Haifa (Israel)
Julierme Pinheiro – Navy Hydrographic Centre, Brazilian Navy (Brazil)
Reese Plews – (Japan)
Abbas Rajabifard – University of Melbourne (Australia)
Petr Rapant – Technical University Ostrava (Czech Republic)
Victoria Rautenbach – Centre for Geoinformation Science, University of Pretoria (South Africa)
Giannina Reyes – (Chile)
Marna Roos – AfriGIS, Pretoria (South Africa)
Lindy-Anne Siebritz – National Geo-spatial Information (NGI) (South Africa)
Kisco Sinvula – Kunene Regional Council, Opuwo (Namibia)
Stefan Steiniger – Departamento de Ingeniería de Transporte y Logística, Pontifical Catholic University, Santiago (Chile)
Siegfried Vanlishout – Informatie Vlaanderen, Gent (Belgium)
Gaby van Wyk – (Australia)
Rumiana Vatseva – Sofia University, Sofia (Bulgaria)